Home > Current Affairs, Politics - Domestic, The EYE-BALL Herman O'HERMITAGE > EYE-BALL’s Herman on: A Chronology of Farce – and of a Government who Wonders Why Their Opinion Polls are so low.

EYE-BALL’s Herman on: A Chronology of Farce – and of a Government who Wonders Why Their Opinion Polls are so low.

July 18, 2012
Herman O'Hermitage
Title:
- A Chronology of Farce -
- and of a Government who Wonders Why Their Opinion Polls are so low.
| By: Herman O’Hermitage | 18th July 2012 |
Herman O'HermitageFrom what is set out below, there are many insights. This is but a snapshot of our modern democrazy, where every picture tells a story, in this case quite possibly different stories to different readers.

For a start sharing too much personal information through all social media is lacking wisdom. But that said when existing media do not cover such reality, the only option is to cry to the others. To try to gain some audience, to scream civilly in frustration, “THIS IS NOT GOOD!” “WHY DOES IT REQUIRE A CRISIS TO GET SOME HELP?” “ARE ALL CLAIMS OF SOCIAL SAFETY NETS JUST RHETORIC?” I will conclude with my own observations.

—–Original Message—–
From: {withheld for reasons of privacy}
Sent: Monday, 8 March 2010 4:21 PM
To: A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au; Julia.Gillard.MP@aph.gov.au;
Lindsay.Tanner.MP@aph.gov.au
Subject: Mature Aged Unemployed

I was last in regular employment in 1998. I was in the Banking and Finance Industry for over 20 years, and left {withheld for reasons of privacy} in 1998 due to prolonged Family Court Issues. I am qualified in Accounting and Administration. I have resumed studies. I was very successful in my career until 1998 and enjoyed title and salary beyond the average.

I am now 52 years of age and I have lost count of the number of Applications for work I have made since 2002. I have worked as a labourer since 2003 and now my doctor advises me to stop due to meta carpal issues. About job applications I may have made 300 to 500, I truly do not know, and try not to dwell on it as it is so depressive and affects your self esteem. Since mid January this year I have made over 100 applications.

About these 100 odd applications this year I have 3 applications current, applying for work in Department of Finance, others with CRS, I have applied for work with APRA, ASIC and many other government instrumentalities.

Last week I was rejected by Dept of Broadband & CDE (DBCDE), there is still another application in the system with DBCDE. Today I received a letter of rejection from Westpac. That application was made last Thursday and is still advertised, (that commonly occurs – Applied for at least 5 jobs with Coca Cola Amatil in January and I am rejected within an hour).

About Social Security, I am married to an Applied Psychologist, whose

income prevents me from claiming Newstart. I understand that I can access Centrelink’s services all the same, but that too has been to no avail, As access to job network is very very futile. The lack of success applying for work is the biggest single issue in my home environment and relationship. Continued failure will destroy my marriage. Clearly I write in utter frustration.

I ask, what can the government do to help people like me?

I have several friends in similar situations, who have so much to offer society, yet are constantly spurned. Simply by way of example, one colleague was voted fund manager of the year 5 times in the year he was made redundant and has not worked since. He is now 57. I can only deduce that society has lost all respect for the more mature citizens.

This is a plea for help, What more can I say or do?

Yours Faithfully,
{withheld for reasons of privacy}

From: withheld for reasons of privacy
Sent: Wednesday, 17 March 2010 11:16 AM
To: Albanese, Anthony (MP); Gillard, Julia (MP)
Subject: FW: Mature Aged Unemployed
Dear Mr Albanese and Ms Gilliard,

I sent the following expecting a response. It is addressed to Mr. Albanese as my local member, and Ms Gillard as Minister for Work Place Relations and Social Inclusion. (Mr Tanner should be aware of the immorality of the banking and finance industry and was included).

Below [chronologically now above] I ask “I ask, what can the government do to help people like me?” Please respond.

In discussing this issue with another ex colleague, who ran for the ALP

at the last State Election in a safe Liberal Seat, he wrote and I quote “I think it is funny that everyone is supposed to keep working longer: but it is difficult to get a job over 40 and practically impossible to get a job if you are over 50.   One problem is, anyone can tell how old you are by looking at you, no questions are necessary, so age discrimination laws are ineffective.    It is a problem for the community as a whole, because as the population ages our work is actually required.” He has given up looking for work and is studying a PhD.

When I talk with others who are in a similar position, please tell me

what I can offer them by way of hope or enlightenment.

Yours Sincerely
withheld for reasons of privacy

AS the election cycle is approaching a response is received.

From: Albanese, Anthony (MP) [mailto:A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au]
Sent: Tuesday, 13 April 2010 4:35 PM
To: {withheld for reasons of privacy}
Subject: RE: Mature Aged Unemployed
Dear Mr {withheld for reasons of privacy},

Thank you for your emails of early March, concerning the challenges that mature age people face in finding employment. I apologise for the delay in responding.

I raised your concerns with my colleague, Senator Mark Arbib, the Minister for Employment Participation, who advised that on 1 February 2010, the Government announced the Productive Ageing Package ($43.3million over 5 years). The Package is designed to help mature age Australians remain engaged in the labour market and to encourage the transfer of their skills and experience to younger generations. From 1 July 2010, the Package will provide practical support to mature age Australians, including through access to free professional career advice and training to support job retention.

The Productive Ageing Package includes a Consultative Forum on Mature Age Participation. The Forum will provide Government with advice on practical solutions to address barriers to employment participation for mature age people, including negative employer and community attitudes; age-based discrimination; re-skilling and career transitions; suitability of training; and retaining the expertise of older workers.

The Forum includes representatives of seniors’ groups (National Seniors Australia, Council on the Ageing, Older People Speak Out), the Australian Council of Trade Unions, employer/industry groups, the National Employment Services Association, and other key stakeholders. The Commissioner responsible for Age Discrimination, Ms Elizabeth Broderick, is also a member of the Forum.

The Forum met for the first time on 18 February 2010. More information about the work of the Forum will be made available through the Government’s Jobwise website (www.jobwise.gov.au).

I assure you the Australian Government acknowledges the valuable contribution that mature age people make to the economy and to the community. The Government recognises that it can be difficult for mature age job seekers to find and maintain suitable employment and is committed to ensuring that the right services, training and opportunities are in place for mature age job seekers and workers.

Thank you for volunteering your considered views on these issues. I hope the information I have provided is of interest.

Yours sincerely,
Anthony Albanese MP
Member for Grayndler

—–Original Message—–
From: {withheld for reasons of privacy}
Sent: Wednesday, 8 September 2010 10:10 AM
To: Albanese, Anthony (MP)
Cc: wilkie.andrew@bigpond.com; robert.oakeshott.mp@aph.gov.au;
bob.katter.mp@aph.gov.au; Tony.Windsor.MP@aph.gov.au
Subject: RE: Mature Aged Unemployed (Marginalised Men)
Dear Sir,

May I start with congratulations to you and the entire labor government (and the independents) on the apparent outcome of our recent election. Prima facie it appears to be a good outcome for Australia.

May I add that I shook your hand on election day (even though you don’t know me) at Leichhardt Town Hall when you were speaking with your staffers.

This brings me to my recent 8 weeks employment with the AEC. It is the first decent work I have had in about 8 years, and is demonstrative of many things.

Since January 17, 2010 I have applied for well over 300 jobs, (maybe even now approaching 400 I try not to dwell too much on the negative) maybe about 1/3rd were in government positions (I have records of every job applied for), and until the recent start with AEC (where I started not with an interview but a short induction and trial) I had obtained only one interview from those applications. Sadly government budgets are such that as the election writ is returned in the next day or so, the entire itinerant work force of the AEC is dismissed.

When we hear about skill shortages and other spin, we simply don’t believe. I speak for many people with similar experience to myself, who are either unemployed or under-employed. Rational economic outcomes can only be more spin, always compromised by politics or private agenda.

Firstly and foremostly I am constituent of the federal division of Grayndler. I live in
{withheld for reasons of privacy}.

Further to a letter from Mark Arbib after our last correspondence, it culminates in null (nothing). I received 2 phone numbers, where quasi counsellors, offered very glib responses like “this phone call is it”, “change your approach”, “get professional appraisal of your resume”, “die your hair” (bovine excretia) and so on. Are people like me denied just a modicum of decency?

As our government, knuckles down to the task at hand for the next 3 years, this and a whole lot more need to be addressed. I would like answers to my issues about corruption at Macquarie University addressed, (previously referred to Julia Gillard in her capacity as DEEWR, soon to be referred to AUQA) and poker machines (previously referred to various state parliamentarians inluding Richard Greene and Lee Rhiannon and other independents).

I do not believe I have all the answers. I do believe we need to set our goals as tackling these more vexed issues. I truly believe that is the attitude of the independents and hopefully an invigorated government.

Any forum that is offered to me to can only be appreciated and embraced. I can and will travel to work or to attempt to really flesh out any element of those vexed issues. My experience with communications like this, is that they are truly dealt with by brikbats. Thank you for your ??? and best of luck.

I truly feel that I am a soldier of Australian democracy, who wants to be proud of our democracy and egalitarianism.

Yours Sincerely
{withheld for reasons of privacy}

—–Original Message—–
From: {withheld for reasons of privacy}
Sent: Wednesday, 7 September 2011 3:49 PM
To: A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au
Cc: Sussan.Ley.MP@aph.gov.au; senator.abetz@aph.gov.au
Subject: Mature aged Unemployment and the public service

I am constituent of Grayndler. My address is {withheld for reasons of privacy}. I have written several times before about the plight of the unemployed, particularly the mature aged unemployed. I note my e mail of September 8, 2010 remains unanswered. All previous correspondence is made available to Shadow Ministry if that assists.

This e mail directly addresses the jaundiced application by the Australian Public Service (APS) of “Merit Based Application Process”. The Federal Public Service requires you to address basic selection criteria. Typically they are;

  • ·     Achieves Results
  • ·     Supports Productive Working Relationships
  • ·     Displays Personal Drive and Integrity
  • ·     Communicates with Influence
  • ·     Supports Strategic Direction

When you refer to the APS “cracking the code” they say use recent and relevant examples using a STAR approach. (STAR is acronym for Situation, Task, Approach and Result). About the word recent they define that as 18 months to 2 years.

Today I received rejection e mails in respect of employment applications from Cancer Council Australia and National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme (NICNAS). Each respectively refers me to Bill Northcote (02) 9357 9431 or Adrienne Adams (02) 8577 8891 (selection Chairperson) for feedback. I phoned Mr Northcote, and have E-mailed Ms Adams. After speaking with Mr Northcote I decided to write about this issue.

This is a problem where APS have skewed the concept of merit towards existing bureaucracy and against those with little or no knowledge of APS inner workings.

My problem is that after a long and distinguished career in finance I have not had regular employment since 1998. This is not about up skilling or re skilling, I am to graduate on September 27, where I am informed that the testamur is to include the words, “Honours – with Distinction”.

Mr Northcote said, amongst other things,”that those who did not strictly address the selection criterion were not considered.” In repartee he said “hey this is government”. I have strictly addressed the selection criterion but with great difficulty because of this concept of recent and relevant. I can make my Statement of Claims available in respect of each application if that assists.

For the sake of all of Australia and efficiency in Government this needs to be addressed. Importantly when Australia claims to have a skills shortage, and increased immigrant intake to address such issues, why is it near on impossible for me to get a job. In every application I attempt to express I would go to extraordinary lengths to get a start. I really don’t ask for much, simply a chance.

Recently I have been dwelling on a subject that I could write a thesis (doctorate) on. I feel it would be so simple to get things moving in respect of mature aged unemploment. I tiny funding within DEEWR or the appropriate place, could lead to efficiencies, within bureaucratic process to streamline and simplify. Actually upskilling the Public Service, and improving motivations. Addressing accountability and transparency. Yesterday I was attempting to deal with similar issues with the Department of Defence. I have many examples across various Government Departments.

I would like to start a dialogue or create change for the better. Your advice would be appreciated. If it assists I can be contacted on

{withheld for reasons of privacy}

About the low opinion polls of all government when such issues are only addressed just before elections that is telling. On first blush government is detached and self serving. If you care to re read Mr. Albanese’s response is it full of rhetoric. Simplistic and only addressing being re-elected. I could easily find just as many other examples elsewhere.

Why does such an issue not attract more real media coverage. The suffering of wild boars in the “pig dogging representing bloodsport” in and around Mackay’s bumper sugar plantations attracts more media interest since exposed yesterday. Are news recipients really the dopes they are taken for by media? The pig dogging expose includes photography of Independent Clover Moore shaking her head in disgust saying “It is just blood sport!”

Does there need to be greater tragedy or violence to attract media coverage? We can’t condone the mayhem in Damascus now, the havoc that is today Libya, or what occurred in the British riots last August. In Sydney the death of an 18 year old youth Thomas Kelly in Kings Cross, has finally drawn sufficient attention to the predatory behaviours of the liquor outlets only acting out of self interest, the half inebriated youths arriving at the Cross late, being patronized and so on. What will it take?

Another suicide of a senior citizen or a premature death of one afflicted without hope does not attract news coverage. Statistics are buried somewhere, try and find them.

There is much more correspondence that I could include, and I may do so in a Part II, with the authors permission. He has granted me permission to reproduce the above only on the basis that he is not further unduly embarrassed.

The author of these e mails has now called his local member Mr. Anthony Albanese and requested a personal appointment. He has asked my advice. Writing this expose out helps to condense my thoughts.

The 20,000 times $1,000 ($20million) promised in the last federal budget to hire workers over 50 will achieve nothing. It hardly covers the cost of workers compensation for hiring a person for 3 months. How is it any different to Mr. Albanese’s claim in April 2010 before the last election “the Government announced the Productive Ageing Package ($43.3million over 5 years)”.

How was appointing a Commissioner for Age Discrimination (former Senator Susan Ryan) to bolster the role formerly held by Ms Elizabeth Broderick (as set out in E mail of Mr. Albanese) a new initiative. Nothing has changed or likely to change. It is not a mainstream issue, does not attract sufficient public sympathy or awareness.

How about employing a small group of secret shoppers to expose some of the nonsense practices of employer groups including Australia’s totally inefficient and at times inept civil service?

Legislation is not generally efficient. There is simply no point. So too public forums rarely achieve much, it is about trying to change culture. There are many successful examples in recent history of successful attempts to change culture as well as unsuccessful campaigns. The answer lies in some type of micro economic reform. Right now I am still pondering. When I have concluded here I might just try and crystalise my thoughts in a series of question the government might want to dwell on to turn around the fortunes of the govrnment and the long term and mature aged unemployed (underemployed).

I have some time to consider this list, as my friend is unlikely to obtain his appointment with Mr. Albanese this side of Christmas if the responses to his e-mail are any example. Always good to be prepared all the same. With a federal election due round about next August he might get a response from Mr. Albanese maybe 3 months before.

Believing in sanity is indeed insanity.

see also:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citizens_United_v._Federal_Election_Commission

________________________________

Click here to read more of Herman’s previous posts …

Herman …

  1. david the pragmatist
    July 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm | #1

    i’m not sure about your friend,maybe he is unemployable

  2. the parable
    July 18, 2012 at 11:28 pm | #2

    You can’t hire an unemployable person, or you can’t reason with an idiot?

    Most try to find good. Some are just unreasonable.

  3. Psycho-the-rapist
    July 19, 2012 at 12:42 am | #3

    I am conducting a study on advanced aspergers disease.

    I woulg like to contact this David the Pragmatist. He is both clearly deluded and delusional, with absolutely no social skills.

    Could we possibly speak offline, I can be contacted on psychiatrist3289@gmail.com

  4. volcom
    July 19, 2012 at 2:31 am | #4

    Greetings! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. July 19, 2012 at 7:50 am | #5

    The skill of any political is in the art of not answering a direct question – it is such with all consumer issues … misdirect the enquiry a few times – and then if it makes it back to your desk, provide an answer that obfuscates more than exposes ignorance.

    Politicians have no interest in addressing constituents – that task is delegated and if the MP is required to assist then it is minimal advice at best. If the constituents persists – their e-mail gets spammed and phone calls wanting to speak with the MP get the ‘out of town’ message.

    Turning up at the electoral office after you see the MP drive in is one way to get around the problem – but then you are tagged as a stalker … perhaps MP’s being required to spend up to 4 hours a day providing appointment times for constituents in non-sitting Parliamentary weeks – and those appointment records become part of the audit process to ensure MP’s are providing access to constituents.

  6. david the pragamist
    July 19, 2012 at 10:23 am | #6

    I tried to ring the psyco therapist but she had no appointments available. She did say that I sounded very intelligent and offered me a job screening her appointments, apparently there is a real problem with some characters trying to get appoinments. She specifically mentioned
    harry houndog,eye ball, snoop the poop, bhudda balls,none of the above and a few other non descripts.

    Funny, I said I thought it was hard to get job, she said not in this industry, we are all a bit nutty here. I said you should be in politics, she said how do think I got here. Anthony Albanese was trying to out place me and this is all I could get. He said he wanted to replace me with some guy that was virtually unemployable and the only job he could offer him was mine.

    I said excuse me, “whats your name” I was shocked when she said Julia” just goes to show, no one is unemployable.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

